Thursday, February 19, 2009

Ministers discuss EAC integration


Top government official from 15 African countries are meeting in Nairobi to discuss the progress made towards the integration of the three East African countries.

The members drawn from the East African Community, Southern Africa Development Community and COMESA are expected to review progress made towards full integration of country members by the set date.

Permanent secretary in the ministry of trade Cyrus Njiru says the meeting will lay modalities for a similar meeting that will take place Friday between the Kenyan trade minister and his South Africa Counterpart.

Once the integration is finalized the bloc will have a combined population of close to 600 million people trading among country members and a combined gross domestic product running into billions of dollars.