Sunday, November 22, 2009

Security Council urges Malagasy leaders to hold elections, form Government

17 November 2009

The Security Council today welcomed the power-sharing agreement reached by Madagascar’s current and former leaders, and urged the political forces to end months of internal strife with the establishment of a new Government.

The four past and present leaders – Andry Rajoelina, Marc Ravalomanana, Didier Ratsiraka and Albert Zafy – of the Indian Ocean nation struck the deal following talks in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on 6 November.

The 15-member Council encouraged the political forces “to rapidly conclude the formation of the Government,” Ambassador Thomas Mayr-Harting of Austria, which holds the Council’s rotating presidency for this month, told reporters after a closed-door meeting.

Mr. Mayr-Harting added that the Council supports the efforts of the United Nations in the process, in particular the election consultation team which was sent this week.

In addition, it encourages the joint mediation team to continue its efforts to help implement the next steps agreed in Addis Ababa, in particular the referendum on the Constitution and the organization of the elections.

For almost a year Madagascar has been engulfed by political problems that culminated in the resignation in March of Mr. Ravalomanana as president. He was replaced as national leader by Mr. Rajoelina, the former mayor of the capital, Antananarivo.